What’s your story with fear?

I’ve heard it said that fear is the your indicator of something you must do. Within reason, of course. Don’t go jumping off a plane without a parachute because you’re afraid of jumping out of airplanes without parachutes.

But you don’t take an opportunity because you’re afraid. But you’re afraid of the unknown. But the unknown is none of your business. There are certain things out of your control. That’s okay.

Yeah right. It’s just that simple.

Some say yes, it’s that simple.

But that simplicity scares me. There are things I need to do in my life, that even the thought of having to do them weigh me down with anxiety. An anxiety based on nothing but the movie I play in my head.

And the story behind that movie is good. So good, it keeps me on the sofa, paralyzed. I riveted by my own story. I’m nowhere near the edge of my seat. If I was at the edge of my seat, I would be ready to do something. And I’m nowhere near that.

Fear is the result of a well told story that most likely isn’t serving you. It’s really based on not know what’s going to happen at some point in the future. Since there’s no clarity of the future, we fill the blanks with something. We give that something authority. And it rules over us.

Some people’s illusions are real.

My fears haven’t served me. I guess if they did, they wouldn’t be fears.

Exhale.

I just exhaled writing this. There are fears to conquer. There is success to attract. Fear doesn’t look good on anyone.

Live a better story.

What’s your story with fear?

Leave a Reply

