I am in prison

I am in a week-long training for work. As the instructor is giving his introduction, I turn my head to the left and looked out the window. I looked back at him, then I realized something. I’m in jail.

Now, this is not the instructor’s fault. It is 100 percent my fault. I committed the crime, I was judged and now I’m serving my sentence. Every time I look out the window, I’m romanticized with the concept of freedom. I am not free. But it was my own choosing.

My crime? I never set a path for myself. I never said this is the direction I want to go. My jail is the natural outcome of the non -decision that I made a long, long time ago. One can argue my non-decision was a decision.

Now, my jail is not a bad jail. It’s a country club jail. But the reason I call it jail is the lack of freedom. Yes, I set this in motion. However, it was not intentional. The lack of intentionality is the jail. My lack of “freedom” comes from my ignorance of the word intentionality.

I promise, this word is new to me. It wasn’t until recently when I’ve leaned one can reverse engineer success. And let’s define success as doing what you meant to do.

So doing your five sets of push-ups today is success. Success isn’t the developed muscle. That’s a by product of success.

Now, how do I break out of my prison? Answer: Define success. If I don’t want another week-long training session and instead have day-long lunches with my wife, I have to do things differently. If I’m going to be in jail, it’s going to be a jail of my choosing- with all the conjugal visits I want.

But it’s not the first time I’ve thought about intentionality. Although relatively new, I now can’t just be fine with being stuck. 

What keeps me from taking the steps I need for freedom?

I am in prison

Leave a Reply

